Michigan's Minimum Wage Goes Up This Friday

March 25, 2019 - 11:39 am

(WWJ) Michigan will have a new minimum wage of $9.45 an hour beginning Friday, March 29.

That’s an increase of 20 cents over the state's current minimum wage at $9.25. 

For tipped workers, the minimum wage will increase from $3.52 to $3.59 per hour, and for workers age 16 and 17 years, it will increase from $7.86 to $8.03.

There is no change to the training wage of $4.25 for new employees age 16 to 19 for the first 90 days of their employment.

Under Michigan's new minimum wage law, the state's minimum wage will increase a little bit each year, to $9.65 in 2020 and $9.87 in 2021, eventually reaching $12.05 by 2030 (topping out at $4.58 per hour for tipped workers).

The increase falls short of what was proposed by citizen-initiated ballot drives.

A citizen-backed proposal calling for $10 this year and $12 by 2022 was approved by Republican lawmakers before the 2018 election --  preventing it from appearing on the ballot -- only to be delayed to 2030 by a vote during the lame duck session. 

That tactic, never done before, was pushed by some in the business community for economic reasons, but criticized by opponents as an unconstitutional attack on Michigan voters' will. 

The Federal Minimum Wage remains $7.25.