Leader Of 'Latin Counts' Gang Gets 20 Years For Orchestrating Drive-By Shooting In Southwest Detroit

Christopher Nicholas Rishell, known as "C-5," was a "president" of the gang.

WWJ News
December 04, 2019 - 5:06 pm
A gavel, gun and handcufffs

Getty Images


DETROIT (WWJ) -- A leader of the Latin Counts gang is headed to federal prison for 20 years for orchestrating a deadly drive-by shooting in Southwest Detroit two years ago. 

Christopher Nicholas Rishell, known as "C-5," of Lincoln Park, was sentenced on charges of assault with a dangerous weapon in aid of racketeering, U.S. Attorney Matthew Schneider announced Wednesday.

According to court documents, Rishell, 30, orchestrated and helped carry out, along with other Latin Counts gang members, a drive-by shooting in a residential neighborhood in Southwest Detroit on Oct. 7, 2017.

The shooting took place Oct. 7 on Liddesdale Street, in the area of Fort Street and Schaefer Highway. According to police, an SUV pulled up next to a parked car and someone began firing shots. A 30-year-old man was killed and a 26-year-old woman and 28-year-old man were wounded. Schneider said in April 2018 the man who was killed was a suspected member of the Latin Counts.

At the time of the shooting, Rishell was the "president" of the Toldeo Mafia Counts branch of the gang. The Latin Counts, primarily based in Chicago, operates in Southwest Detroit and the Downriver communities of Lincoln Park and Ecorse, according to court records. The Latin Counts are a criminal enterprise responsible for murders, robberies, and the distribution of illegal drugs, according to the attorney's office. The gang uses violence to retaliate against rivals, intimidate citizens in the community, and advance members’ positions within the gang.

Rishell is one of seven Latin Counts members to be charged in the drive-by shooting. All of them have since pleaded guilty after the investigative efforts of the FBI, ATF and Detroit Homicide Task Force. The case was prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorneys Louis Crisostomo, Robert VanWert, and Eric Straus.